COVID-19 Tax Response
Carryout & Delivery During COVID-19
New Tax Filing Deadlines

Comptroller Franchot Announces Members of “Reform On Tap” Task Force

ANNAPOLIS, Md. (April 26, 2017) — Working to modernize Maryland’s beer laws and promote economic growth across the State, Comptroller Peter Franchot today announced the members of the “Reform On Tap” Task Force.

The task force, chaired by Comptroller Franchot and composed of 40 members representing key stakeholder groups within the beer industry, will perform a comprehensive review of the State’s antiquated laws that govern the manufacturing, distribution, and sale of Maryland craft beer.

“Current laws and regulations pose an existential threat to the industry's future growth in Maryland; and with it, the jobs, economic activity, tax revenue and tourism opportunities generated by this community of innovators and entrepreneurs,” said Comptroller Franchot. “In the absence of comprehensive reform, Maryland's reputation within the national craft brewing industry will continue to suffer and the economies of our neighboring states will benefit at our expense.”

Task force members come from every region of the state and represent both large and small breweries, distributors, restaurants, bars and retailers, consumers, and local and state elected officials.

“I’m grateful to the men and women who have volunteered their time, talents, and energy by serving on this important task force,” Comptroller Franchot added. “The vast majority of the members are business owners who are making meaningful contributions to our state’s economy while giving back to their communities. I look forward to working with each of them over the next several months.”

The first meeting of the “Reform On Tap” Task Force will be May 24 at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore City. All meetings and town halls, to be held throughout the spring and summer across the state, are open to the public and the press. Locations and dates of future meetings will be announced soon.

The task force will develop legislative proposals based on extensive review of Maryland’s beer laws and other states’ laws. Additionally, feedback from industry stakeholders and the public will be incorporated, all with the goal of facilitating the growth and success of Maryland’s craft beer industry and other independent businesses.

Marylanders are encouraged to submit comments, questions and feedback to and follow the “Reform On Tap” Facebook page for updates.

The members of the task force are:

The members of the task force are:
1. The Honorable Peter Franchot, Comptroller of Maryland, Task Force Chairman
2. Mr. Adam Benesch, Co-Founder, Union Craft Brewing, Baltimore
3. Mr. Eric Best, General Manager, Bob Hall LLC, Upper Marlboro
4. Mr. Justin Bonner, Founder and CEO, Jailbreak Brewing Company, Laurel
5. Mr. Chris Brohawn, Co-Owner, Reale Revival (RaR) Brewing, Cambridge
6. Mr. Patrick Brady, CFO, The Fin City Brewing Company, Ocean City
7. Ms. Betty Buck, President, Buck Distributing Co. Inc., Upper Marlboro
8. Mr. Thomas G. Coale, Attorney, Talkin & Oh, LLP, Ellicott City
9. The Honorable Jake Day, Mayor, City of Salisbury
10. Mr. Chuck Ferrar, Owner, Bay Ridge Wine & Spirits, Annapolis
11. Mr. Tom Flores, Brewmaster, Monocacy Brewing & Brewer's Alley, Frederick
12. The Honorable Mike Gill, Secretary, Maryland Department of Commerce (ex-officio)
13. Mr. Mike Haynie, Board Chair, Maryland Tourism Coalition
14. Mr. Neal Katcef, President, Katcef Brothers Inc., Annapolis
15. Mr. John Knorr, Owner, Evolution Craft Brewing Company, Salisbury
16. Ms. Carolyn Marquis, Owner, Chesapeake Brewing Company, Annapolis
17. Mr. E. Randolph Marriner, President and CEO, Manor Hill Brewing, Ellicott City
18. The Honorable John Mautz, Maryland State Delegate, Legislative District 37B (Mid-Shore)
19. Mr. Cory McCagh, Owner, 1812 Brewery, Cumberland
20. Mr. Jack Milani, Owner, Monaghan’s Pub and Legislative Chair, Maryland State Licensed Beverage Association, Woodlawn
21. Ms. Liz Murphy, Beer Writer, Naptown Pint, Annapolis
22. Mr. John (Phil) Muth, Co-Owner, Brookeville Brewing LLC, Brookeville
23. Ms. Carly Ogden, Co-Owner, Attaboy Beer, Frederick
24. Mr. Dick O'Keefe, Owner, Peabody Heights Brewery, Baltimore
25. Mr. Joe Petro, Owner, Hair O' The Dog Wine & Spirits, Easton
26. Mr. John D. Porcari, President, U.S. Advisory Services, WSP|Parsons Brinckerhoff, Cheverly
27. Mr. Phillip D. Rhudy, Co-Owner and Brewer, Independent Brewing Company, Bel Air
28. Mr. Tony Russo, Editor and Writer,
29. The Honorable Johnny Ray Salling, Maryland State Senator, Legislative District 6 (Baltimore County)
30. Mr. Ben Savage, Chief Marketing Officer, Flying Dog Brewery, Frederick
31. Mr. J. Michael Scarborough, Managing Partner, Calvert Brewing Company, Upper Marlboro
32. Ms. Leslie Schaller, Director of Media and Marketing, Bond Distributing Company, Baltimore
33. Mr. Hugh Sisson, Owner, Heavy Seas Brewing Company, Halethorpe
34. Ms. Hilda Staples, Owner, Volt Restaurant Group, Frederick
35. Ms. Beth Swoap, Board of Liquor License Commissioners, Calvert County
36. Ms. Julie Verratti, Co-Founder and Director of Business Development, Denizens Brewing Company, Silver Spring
37. The Honorable Mary Washington, Maryland State Delegate, Legislative District 43 (Baltimore City)
38. The Honorable Steve Weems, Commissioner, Calvert County; Owner, Wemyss Liquors, St. Leonard
39. Mr. Keith Wolcott, Director of Sales, Atlantic Custom Solutions/Brand My Beverage, Baltimore
40. The Honorable Ron Young, Maryland State Senator, Legislative District 3 (Frederick)

Media Contacts: Alan Brody, 410-260-6346 (office); 443-924-1473 (cell)