
ADMINISTRATIVE RELEASE
 Maryland Income Tax 

I. General

The Maryland estate tax is a tax due on the 
transfer of assets from an estate. The tax is based 
on the maximum credit for state death taxes 
allowable against the federal estate tax and 
calculated under §2011 of the Internal Revenue 
Code. See the specific instructions below based 
on the decedent’s year of death. If the federal 
estate tax was not in effect on the date of the 
decedent’s death, the Maryland estate tax will be 
based on what would have been the maximum 
allowable credit for state death taxes, without 
reduction, in effect on the date immediately 
preceding the effective date of the federal estate 
tax repeal.   

     The credit may be apportioned for estates that 
include certain property located outside of the 
State of Maryland. The instructions for 
determining the portion of the credit that is due 
to Maryland are located on Schedule A of the 
Maryland estate tax return, Form MET1.  

     For decedents dying on or after January 1, 
2006, the federal credit used to determine the 
Maryland estate tax cannot exceed 16% of the 
amount by which the decedent’s taxable estate 
exceeds the Maryland estate tax exemption 
amount for the decedent’s year of death.  

A. For Decedents dying after December 31, 
2018 
     Prior to 2018, the Maryland estate tax 
exclusion amount for decedents dying on or after 
January 1, 2019 was equal to the federal estate 
tax exclusion. During the 2018 session, the 
Maryland General Assembly enacted HB 308, 
which amended Tax-General Article 7-309 to 
cap the Maryland exclusion amount at $5 
million per person for Maryland decedents dying 
on or after January 1, 2019. The $5 million cap 
is not indexed for inflation, but it does allow for 

portability between spouses of the deceased 
spouse's unused exclusion amounts. 

B. For Decedents dying after December 31,
2014 

     The Maryland General Assembly enacted 
legislation during the 2014 session that 
gradually conforms the Maryland estate tax 
exemption amount to the value of the federal 
exemption amount, thereby increasing the 
amount that can be excluded for Maryland estate 
tax purposes. The increase in the amount that 
can be excluded for Maryland estate tax 
purposes is phased over five years and is equal 
to (1) $1.5 million for a decedent dying in 
calendar year 2015; (2) $2.0 million for a 
decedent dying in calendar year 2016; (3) $3.0 
million for a decedent dying in calendar year 
2017; (4) $4.0 million for a decedent dying in 
calendar year 2018. As explained above, for 
decedents dying on or after January 1, 2019, the 
exclusion amount is $5 million. 

C. For Decedents dying after December 31,
2011 

     During the 2012 Legislative Session the 
Maryland General Assembly enacted the Family 
Farm Preservation Act of 2012, which adds a 
new subsection to Title 7 of the Tax-General 
Article allowing for the exclusion of up to 
$5,000,000 of the value of qualified agricultural 
property from the value of the gross estate for 
decedents dying after December 31, 2011. The 
new provision also provides that the Maryland 
estate tax may not exceed 5% of the value of 
specified agricultural property exceeding 
$5,000,000. Maryland qualified agricultural 
exclusion forms may be obtained by calling the 
Estate Tax Unit at (410) 260-7850.  
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     D. For Decedents dying after December 31, 
2009  
 
     The federal estate tax does not apply to 
decedents dying after December 31, 2009 and 
before January 1, 2011. The changes to the 
Maryland estate tax enacted by the General 
Assembly since 2002 anticipated periods of time 
when the federal estate tax would not be in 
effect. Thus, the Maryland estate tax, as 
described in Sections I.C. through I.F., remains 
in effect.  
 
     For decedents dying after December 31, 
2009, estates with a gross estate plus adjusted 
taxable gifts valued at $1,000,000 or more are 
required to file a Maryland estate tax return. The 
provisions of the Maryland estate tax that 
became effective for decedents dying after 
December 31, 2005 (discussed in Section I.D. 
below) continue to be applicable. During 2010 
when the federal estate tax did not apply, the 
Maryland estate tax is still equal to the federal 
allowable credit for state death taxes without 
reduction by any Act of Congress enacted on or 
after January 1, 2001, and the Maryland estate 
tax is determined using the other provisions of 
federal estate tax law as in effect on December 
31, 2009.  
 
     E. For Decedents dying after December 31, 
2005  
 
     Additional changes to the Maryland estate tax 
were made during the 2006 Legislative Session 
of the Maryland General Assembly. For 
decedents dying after December 31, 2005, the 
federal credit used to determine the Maryland 
estate tax cannot exceed 16% of the amount by 
which the decedent’s taxable estate exceeds 
$1,000,000. In addition, a decedent’s estate is 
now authorized to make an election on the 
Maryland estate tax return to treat property as 
marital deduction qualified terminable interest 
property for purposes of calculating the 
Maryland estate tax. An election on the 
Maryland estate tax return to treat property as 
marital deduction qualified terminable interest 
property shall be recognized for purposes of 
calculating the Maryland estate tax even if an 

inconsistent election is made for the same 
decedent for federal estate tax purposes.  
 
     F. For Decedents dying after December 31, 
2004  
 
     In addition to the description for decedents 
dying after December 31, 2003 in Section I.F. 
below, the 2004 Maryland legislation further 
provided that the Maryland estate tax is now 
determined without regard to any deduction for 
state death taxes allowed under §2058 of the 
Internal Revenue Code. When Congress 
repealed the credit for state death taxes, it 
authorized a deduction in its place on the federal 
estate tax return. This deduction is disallowed 
when calculating the Maryland estate tax.  
 
     G. For Decedents dying after December 
31, 2003 and before January 1, 2005  
 
     Legislation enacted during the 2004 session 
of the Maryland General Assembly has further 
“decoupled” Maryland’s estate tax law from 
amendments to the Internal Revenue Code. The 
Maryland filing requirement is now based on an 
estate with a gross estate plus adjusted taxable 
gifts valued at $1,000,000 or more and not the 
federal filing requirement. The Maryland estate 
tax is still equal to the federal allowable credit 
for state death taxes, without reduction by any 
Act of Congress enacted on or after January 1, 
2001. The Maryland estate tax continues in force 
without reduction in the same manner as if the 
federal credit had not been reduced or repealed.  
 
     H. For Decedents dying after December 
31, 2001 and before January 1, 2004  
 
     The filing requirement is the same as for the 
federal estate tax return. The Maryland General 
Assembly enacted legislation during the 2002 
legislative session that has partially “de-
coupled” Maryland’s estate tax law from the 
Internal Revenue Code and the phase-out of the 
credit for state death taxes. Beginning with 
estates of decedents dying after December 31, 
2001, the Maryland estate tax is equal to the 
federal allowable credit for state death taxes, 
without reduction by any Act of Congress 
enacted on or after January 1, 2001. The 



 
 

Maryland estate tax continues in force without 
reduction in the same manner as if the federal 
credit had not been reduced or repealed. Table 
B, included with the federal instructions and 
used to calculate the credit for state death taxes, 
can now be found on Schedule B of the 
Maryland estate tax return. Use Schedule B to 
calculate the “de-coupled” Maryland estate tax 
liability.  
 
     I. For Decedents dying on or before 
December 31, 2001  
 
     The filing requirement is the same as for the 
federal estate tax return. The maximum 
allowable credit for state death taxes from the 
federal estate tax return is reported on the 
Maryland estate tax return and used to determine 
the Maryland estate tax.  
 
II. Requirement to file return  
 
The person who is responsible for filing the 
federal estate tax return or, if a federal return is 
not required, the duly appointed personal 
representative of the decedent’s estate, must file 
the Maryland estate tax return. If there is no 
personal representative appointed, then the 
person(s) in possession of the property of the 
decedent are required to file the return. The 
return must be filed if the decedent was a:  
 
     A. Resident of Maryland at the time of death; 
or  
 
     B. Nonresident but owned real property or 
tangible personal property having a taxable situs 
in Maryland; and  
 
     C. Meets the filing requirements for the year 
of death as explained in Section I of this release. 
 
     If the above conditions are met, a state tax 
return must be filed even if no tax is due. If the 
estate is not required to file a federal estate tax 
return, but is required to file a Maryland estate 
tax return, a pro forma federal return, Form 706, 
must be prepared as though the federal return 
were required. Maryland estate tax forms may 
be obtained by calling the Estate Tax Unit at 
(410) 260-7850, visiting the Comptroller’s 

Webpage at www.marylandtaxes.com or writing 
to:  
 

Comptroller of Maryland  
Revenue Administration Division  

Estate Tax Unit  
P.O. Box 828  

Annapolis, Maryland 21404-0828 
 
 III. Credit for inheritance tax paid  
 
     The inheritance tax paid to the Register of 
Wills is subtracted from the gross Maryland 
estate tax liability and the difference is the 
Maryland estate tax due. If the inheritance tax 
paid is equal to or exceeds the Maryland estate 
tax, no Maryland estate tax is due.  
 
     Estate tax is owed and due until the 
inheritance tax is actually paid. If the amount of 
inheritance tax paid to the Register of Wills on 
or before the due date of the Maryland estate tax 
return is less than the gross Maryland estate tax 
liability, interest and/or penalty will be assessed 
on the outstanding tax liability. Interest will 
continue to accrue until the inheritance tax paid 
equals or exceeds the outstanding tax liability. 
See Comptroller of the Treasury v. Jameson, 332 
Md. 723, 633 A.2d 93 (1993). For example, 
Estate owes $150,000 of estate tax, due by the 
nine (9) month statutory due date of January 1, 
2014. Estate made two $75,000 payments of 
inheritance tax, one on December 1, 2013, and 
one on February 1, 2014. Because only $75,000 
was paid by the estate tax due date, interest will 
be due on the remaining $75,000 from January 
1, 2014 through February 1, 2014 when the 
amount of inheritance tax paid to the Register of 
Wills equaled the Maryland estate tax liability.  
 
IV. Due date  
 
     A. Return filing due date  
 
     The Maryland estate tax return is due to be 
filed within nine (9) months after the date of 
death. As of July 1, 2015, all Maryland estate 
tax returns must be filed directly with the 
Comptroller of Maryland at the address below.  
  



 
 

     B. Payment  
 
     Payment of the estate tax is made directly to 
the Comptroller of Maryland and is also due 
within nine (9) months after the date of death. 
The payment may be sent with a Maryland 
estate tax remittance Form MET3 or may be sent 
with a letter. The letter must provide the 
decedent's name, social security number, date of 
death, and the county in which the estate is 
being probated. Payment should be sent to:  
 

Comptroller of Maryland 
Revenue Administration Division 

Estate Tax Unit 
P.O. Box 828 

Annapolis, Maryland 21404-0828 
 
  V. Extensions  
 
     The Comptroller may extend the time to file 
an estate tax return up to 6 months. If the person 
required to file the estate tax return is out of the 
United States the extension may be up to 1 year. 
An application Form MET1-E must be filed with 
the Comptroller on or before the statutory due 
date and should include: a copy of the federal 
extension request, Form 4768, if applicable, and 
remittance of the estimated Maryland estate tax 
or a request for an alternative payment schedule. 
An approved extension request does not extend 
the time for payment of the Maryland estate tax.  
 
VI. Payment Agreements  
 
     A. Alternative payment schedules  
 
     An estate that is unable to make a full 
payment of the tax due on the due date may 
request an alternative payment schedule. The 
alternative payment schedule must be requested 
by the person responsible for filing the return 
and paying the tax or that person’s authorized 
agent.  
 
   B. The request for an alternative payment 
schedule must be made in writing and include 
the following information:  
 
          1. The Maryland estate tax return 
Exception: In the case of an extension, the 

alternative payment schedule must be based on 
the amount that is estimated to be due.  
 
          2. The proposed alternative payment 
schedule, based on one of the following options: 
 
               (a) A deferral of payment for up to one 
year. Additional deferrals may be considered on 
a year-by-year basis. If there is an agreement to 
defer the payment, then at the end of the deferral 
period, unless the applicant reapplies for and is 
granted an additional deferral, payment in full is 
due.  
 
               (b) An installment schedule for 
periodic payments. If a payment installment 
schedule is for more than one year, the applicant 
is required to certify annually that the conditions 
and circumstances that existed at the time the 
alternate payment schedule was requested have 
not materially or significantly changed. Any 
significant change in the conditions and/or 
circumstances may result in a reevaluation and 
the terms of the installment schedule may be 
changed by the Comptroller.  
 
          3. A reasonable estimate of the Maryland 
estate tax liability, if the Maryland estate tax 
return is not included with the application for an 
alternate payment schedule. The estimate must 
include any information that supports the 
amount of the Maryland estate tax liability.  
 
          4. An inventory of the assets comprising 
the gross estate. The inventory should be 
itemized by the type of asset, valuation, and 
location.  
 
          5. The names and addresses of all persons 
responsible for filing the return and paying the 
tax.  
 
          6. A description of all sources and 
amounts of income to the estate.  
 
          7. Evidence that the real estate is being 
actively marketed where the real estate 
comprises a majority of the assets of the estate. 
This must include a realtor listing agreement, a 
letter from the realtor, etc. The request should 
include an explanation with evidence supporting 



 
 

a decision not to sell real property in order to 
pay the tax liability. For example, evidence of 
income to pay the liability from mortgages, 
loans, business income, etc.  
 
          8. For those estates subject to filing a 
federal estate tax return, the status and balance 
of the federal estate tax liability and whether the 
Internal Revenue Service has allowed an 
alternative payment.  
 
          9. Certification that no distributions have 
been made or will be made before taxes are paid.  
 
C. Consent to lien  
 
     Any request for an alternative payment 
schedule that is approved by the Comptroller 
shall be deemed to include consent on behalf of 
the applicant to the filing of a tax lien against the 
estate in any Maryland jurisdiction where there 
may be real or personal property and where the 
decedent resided. The Comptroller may require 
additional security from the person(s) 
responsible for filing the return and paying the 
tax or beneficiaries in the form of a bond with a 
surety approved by the Comptroller’s Office. 
Failure to provide adequate security will be 
grounds for rejecting any alternative payment 
plan.  
 
D. Notification  
 
     An applicant will be provided with a written 
notification of the Comptroller’s decision within 
a reasonable period after receipt of the 
alternative payment schedule application, unless 
additional information is required.  
 
E. Interest on tax due  
 
     Interest will accrue at the statutory rate on the 
unpaid liability from the statutory due date to the 
date of the payment.  
 
F. Appeal  
 
     If the application for an alternative payment 
plan is not approved by the Comptroller, the 
applicant may appeal the denial to the Maryland 

Tax Court within 30 days of the written 
notification of denial.  
 
G. Senate Bill 396 (Chapter 554, Acts of 2010) 
– Pilot Program for Payment Deferral for 
Qualified Agricultural Property  
 
     For decedents dying after December 31, 2010 
and before June 30, 2014, the Maryland General 
Assembly enacted a provision that added a 
subsection to Title 7 of the Tax-General Article 
relating to alternate payment schedules for 
Maryland estate tax imposed on agricultural and 
personal property used for farming purposes. 
Section 7-307(e) provides for a payment deferral 
of 3 years from the due date for Maryland estate 
tax imposed on property passing from a 
decedent to or for the use of an individual who 
enters into an agreement to use the property for 
farming purposes after the decedent’s death. The 
amount that may be deferred is determined by 
multiplying the percentage of property of the 
gross estate that is used for farming purposes 
times the estate tax due. The amount of tax 
deferred under this section may not exceed 
$375,000 as to any decedent. If a payment 
deferral is allowed, the deferred estate tax shall 
be paid without interest in accordance with a 
payment schedule prescribed by the Comptroller 
over a 3-year period beginning in the 4th year 
after the due date. To be eligible for the payment 
deferral, a qualified recipient must file an 
application and enter into an agreement in a 
form specified by the Comptroller to use the 
qualified agricultural property for farming 
purposes after the decedent’s death and file 
periodic reports or allow periodic inspections as 
required by the Comptroller. This Act took 
effect on July 1, 2010 and will be applicable to 
decedents dying after December 31, 2010. The 
Act was abrogated on June 30, 2014 and is of no 
further force and effect for decedents dying after 
that date. To make an application for deferred 
payment of tax on qualified agricultural 
property, file MET1 DAG, with the MET 1 and 
the pro forma federal Form 706.  
 
  



 
 

H. Senate Bill 513 (Chapter 241, Acts of 2011) 
– Maryland Estate Tax – Payment Deferral 
for Qualified Agricultural Property – 
Extension of Payment Deferral  
 
     A new subsection under § 7-307 of the Tax 
General Article authorizes the Comptroller to 
grant an extension of the deferred payment 
period described in Section VI.G. above, if the 
qualified recipient has a pending application to 
put the land on which the deferred estate tax is 
due under a permanent land conservation 
easement with the Maryland Agricultural Land 
Preservation Foundation, the Rural Legacy 
Board, or a similar easement purchase program. 
This extension of payment deferral was 
abrogated on June 30, 2014 and is of no further 
force an effect for decedents dying after that 
date.  
 
VII. Refunds  
 
A claim for refund of Maryland estate tax may 
be filed with the Comptroller by a claimant 
required to pay the tax if:  
 
     A. An erroneous amount of tax has been paid 
or collected, or  
 
     B. The Maryland estate tax is decreased as 
the result of:  
 
          1. Action taken by the Internal Revenue 
Service or the estate, or  
 
          2. An inheritance tax payment made after 
a Maryland estate tax payment.  
 
          An amended MET1 return is required to 
be filed to claim a refund of previously paid 
Maryland estate tax.  
 
     The claim must be supported by documents 
evidencing the estate tax overpayment, i.e., IRS 
closing letter/examination changes or 
inheritance tax receipts.  
 
     If a person is required to pay additional 
inheritance tax to the Register of Wills and the 
payment would result in a refund of previously 
paid Maryland estate tax, the person(s) 

responsible for filing the return and paying the 
tax may request the Comptroller to pay the 
anticipated estate tax refund directly to the 
Register of Wills to be applied against the 
inheritance tax liability. Use Comptroller’s Form 
MET 2ADJ.  
 
     If an inheritance tax refund would result in an 
increase in the Maryland estate tax imposed on 
an estate, the claimant may request the Register 
of Wills to pay the inheritance tax refund 
directly to the Comptroller. Use Register of 
Wills’ Form RW1140. Forms are available from 
the Comptroller and the Registers of Wills.  
 
VIII. Amended return  
 
     After a Maryland estate tax return has been 
filed, an amended Maryland estate tax return 
shall be filed with the Register of Wills if the 
Maryland estate tax liability is increased because 
of:  
 
          1. a change in the federal gross estate, 
federal taxable estate, federal estate tax, or other 
change as determined under the Internal 
Revenue Code;  
 
          2. after-discovered property;  
 
          3. a correction to the value of previously 
reported property;  
 
          4. a correction to the amount of previously 
claimed deductions; or  
 
          5. any other correction to a previously 
filed return.  
 
     The amended return shall be filed within 90 
days after the later to occur of the date of the 
event that caused the increase in the Maryland 
estate tax liability or the date on which the 
person required to file an amended Maryland 
estate tax return learned or reasonably should 
have learned of the increase in the Maryland 
estate tax liability. Use Form MET1 and check 
the box for “amended”. Payment of any 
additional tax, interest, and/or penalty is made to 
the Comptroller of Maryland at the same time 
the return is filed.  



 
 

 
IX. Interest and Penalty  
 
     Interest accrues at the statutory rate on any 
portion of the Maryland estate tax liability not 
satisfied by the statutory due date nine (9) 
months from date of death, including any 
amount not offset by inheritance tax paid to the 
Register of Wills by the statutory due date.  
 
     A late payment penalty of up to 10% is 
charged on any payment of Maryland estate tax 
not paid by the original due date.  
 
     A penalty of 25% shall be charged for the 
underpayment of Maryland estate tax if the 
underpayment exceeds $5,000 and is attributable 
to a “substantial estate tax valuation 
understatement”. A “substantial estate tax 
valuation understatement” is defined as a 
valuation at 60% or less of the amount 
determined to be the correct value.  
 
     A penalty of 25% is charged for failure to 
comply within the time prescribed in a Notice 
and Demand for the filing of a return and the 
payment of the tax.  
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Revenue Administration Division 
 

Telephone: 410-260-7980  
or 1-800-MDTAXES 

 
taxhelp@comp.state.md.us 

 
www.marylandtaxes.gov 

 
For the deaf or hard of hearing:  

call via Maryland Relay at 711 in Maryland  
or 1-800-735-2258 

 
If you need reasonable accommodation for a 
disability, please contact us before you visit. 

 
If you need the information in this publication in an 
alternate format, contact the Comptroller’s Office.  


