

Maryland's Gas Tax Holiday Frequently Asked Questions for Consumers

1. How much is the state gas tax?

Currently, the state <u>motor fuel tax</u> is 36.1 cents per gallon for gasoline, and 36.85 cents per gallon for diesel fuel.

- 2. When will the gas tax holiday begin and when will it end? The gas tax holiday, also called a motor fuel tax suspension, was signed into law March 18, 2022 and will remain in effect for 30 days through April 16, 2022.
- 3. Will I notice a savings when I fill up at the pump? Gas prices fluctuate constantly, even in a single day, and are dependent upon the volatile global economy. However, the price you pay at the pump will not include the state gas tax.
- 4. Is there a maximum price threshold for motor fuel in Maryland? No, there is not a maximum price that can be charged for motor fuel in Maryland, but there is a minimum charge required by law to protect small businesses from unfair competition.
- May I request a refund of the gas tax as a consumer? No. Only qualified holders who paid the motor fuel tax may request a refund.
- 6. Will the 30-day gas tax holiday be extended? Currently, the gas tax holiday will end on April 16. We suggest reaching out to your state legislators regarding any possible extensions.