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Sales and Use Tax Facts 2023-2024 
This publication addresses the bills affecting sales and 
use tax enacted during the 2023 legislative session.  

Cannabis Reform 

The Maryland General Assembly passed House Bill 556 
on April 8, 2023, and Senate Bill 516 on April 10, 2023. 
These bills became law on May 3, 2023, the date 
Governor Wes Moore signed them. Beginning July 1, 
2023, adult-use cannabis can be sold from a licensed 
dispensary or on-site consumption establishment to a 
consumer who is at least 21 years old.  

The new law imposes a sales and use tax rate of 9% on 
the retail sale of adult-use cannabis beginning July 1, 
2023, and sets forth other licensing and regulatory 
provisions. The sales and use tax does not apply to the 
sale of medical cannabis or the sale of cannabis 
between two licensed cannabis establishments. 

The sales and use tax return, Form 202, has been 
updated with new lines to report taxable sales and 
purchases of cannabis for periods beginning July 2023. 
Taxable sales of cannabis are reported on Line 12 as 
“Sales subject to the 9% rate under Senate Bill 516 of 
2023.”  Cannabis businesses are required to file 
separate sales and use tax returns for each of their 
locations.  

Redevelopment Areas in Baltimore County 

House Bill 237 and Senate Bill 174 were enacted under 
Article II, Section 17(c) of the Maryland Constitution 
as Chapters 17 and Chapter 18 of the Acts of 2023.  

The legislation extends the sunset provision for the 
sales and use tax exemption for construction and 
warehousing materials used in certain redevelopment 
areas in Baltimore County until 2036. The bill becomes 
effective on July 1, 2023.  

 

 

Home Amenity Rentals 

Beginning July 1, 2024, Senate Bill 691 applies the sales 
and use tax to home amenity rentals. These rentals 
include the temporary use of residential property, 
excluding bedrooms, for not more than 15 consecutive 
hours. Common home amenities available for rental 
include, but are not limited to, residential swimming 
pools, saunas, and barbecue areas.  

The bill also allows counties and municipalities to 
impose local taxes on home amenity rentals. 

INTEREST RATE  

The annual interest rate for calendar year 2023 is 9% . 
The Comptroller will publish  the 2024 interest rate at 
marylandtaxes.gov later this year. 

SHOP MARYLAND BACK-TO-SCHOOL TAX-
FREE WEEK  

Beginning in calendar year 2010 and each year 
thereafter, there will be a one-week tax-free period for 
back-to-school shopping in Maryland. The tax-free 
period occurs in the 7-day period from the second 
Sunday in August through the following Saturday. This 
year, the tax-free back-to-school shopping period is 
August 13, 2023 through August 19, 2023. 

During this time, the sales and use tax does not apply 
to: 1) the sale of any item of clothing or footwear if the 
taxable price of the item of clothing or footwear is 
$100 or less; or 2) the first $40 of the taxable price of 
any backpack or bookbag. Accessory items are not 
exempt from the sales and use tax during the tax-free 
week. Examples of accessory items include jewelry, 
watches, watchbands, handbags, handkerchiefs, 
umbrellas, scarves, ties, headbands and belt buckles.  

For additional information, please see our website at 
marylandtaxes.gov or email your question to 
TAXHELP@marylandtaxes.gov.
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