
Administrative Release
Comptroller of the Treasury l Alcohol & Tobacco Tax Unit l Goldstein Treasury Building l Annapolis, Maryland 21404-2999

410-260-7314

Maryland Alcohol and Tobacco Tax

No. AB-5
August 16, 1996

TO: Wholesalers who sell and deliver beer in Worcester County
All retail licensees in Worcester County

SUBJECT: Wholesaler to retailer credit sales of beer products

The Maryland General Assemble enacted House
Bill 972 during the 1996 session of the Maryland
General Assembly.  This new law permits credit sales
of beer at the wholesale to retail level under certain
conditions, requires certain sanctions for non-payment
within a specified period, and requires the state
comptroller to enforce the provisions of the law.

The below listed requirements have been adopted
by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax Unit (ATTU) and are
effective October 1, 1996.   All affected wholesalers
and retailers are urged to carefully review these
requirements to assure they are in full compliance.
Violations on the part of wholesalers will result in fines
and other applicable penalties as provided.  Retailers
should note that failure to pay beer invoices by the due
date will result in their inability to purchase any beer
products from any wholesaler and could also result in
the denial of future credit privileges.

A. A wholesaler may sell beer on credit to retailers
in Worcester county provided:

1. The retailer has held an alcoholic beverage
retail license in Worcester county for a
minimum of two consecutive years prior to
the sale and delivery; and

2. The wholesaler complies with the
provisions of this administrative release.

B. A wholesaler who sells and delivers beer on
credit to a retailer in Worcester county must be
paid in full, including any interest charges, for
the outstanding invoice not later than the tenth
calendar day after the date of delivery.

C. A wholesaler who has not received payment in
accordance with section B above shall:

1. Immediately discontinue beer sales, credit
or otherwise, to that retailer; and

2. Notify ATTU via fax (410-974-3201) of
the delinquency as soon as possible but
not later than 12:00 noon on the next
business day.

D. Notification of a delinquency under c(2) above
may be in any form but must contain at least
the following information:

1. Name of wholesaler filing report,

2. Name and trade name of retail licensee,

3. Full address of retail licensee,

4. Date and number of original invoice, and

5. Amount of delinquency.

E. ATTU will provide all other  wholesalers of
beer notice via fax of the delinquency report
received.  The notice will provide  an effective
date when all wholesalers are prohibited from
making any sale or delivery of beer to that
account.

F. A wholesaler who has previously reported a
delinquency shall notify ATTU upon  receipt of
full payment.  The notification time frames shall
be the same as with the original notification.
Upon notification from ATTU that an account
has been cleared all wholesalers, including the
wholesaler who filed the original delinquent
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report, may resume credit sales and
deliveries to that account.  Credit sales may
be made at the discretion of the wholesalers.

G. If a wholesaler becomes aware that a retailer
check has been returned by the bank unpaid,
whether or not the check was issued as a
payment at the time of delivery or on the
retailer’s 10 day credit account, and the 10 day
period specified in section B above has expired,
the wholesaler shall consider this as a
 non-payment and immediately report this
information to ATTU.  A wholesaler may
elect to re-deposit a returned check if it is
returned within 10 days of the original
invoice date.  However, if it is returned
unpaid a second time, a report shall be
immediately filed with ATTU.   Notification
should include a statement that the report
was based on a returned check.

H. In accordance with §12-112(c)(7) of Article
2B of the Annotated Code of Maryland a
retailer who has been reported on three
separate occasions within a single calendar
year will be prohibited from obtaining beer
on credit for a period of two years from the
date of the third report.  ATTU will notify all
wholesalers of any retailers who meet this
criterion.

I. Wholesalers who act contrary to this adminis-
trative release or any provisions of §12-112(c) may
be fined up to $1,000 for each violation and  will
subject their license to suspension or revocation
proceedings or other penalties as may be
provided.

Charles W. Ehart, DPA
Administrator


