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One reason flea markets can be
profitable and fun for both vendors
and customers is their informality.
Howewver, one formality you can't
avoid is the sales and use tax. The
good news is that 1t a lot easier to
comply with Maryland s sales and
use tax than you think.

What sales at flea markets are taxable?

Sales made at flea markets are taxable just
like sales made elsewhere.

What if I am just selling my own
household property?

There is an exemption for casual and
isolated sales of less than $1,000 which would
cover sales of a seller’s own household goods.
This exemption does not apply to any sales by
a full- or part-time dealer. Nor does it apply if
any of the property being offered for sale,
whether new or used, was purchased or made
solely for resale.

How do I collect the sales and use tax?

The first step is to obtain a license. You
can get either a 30-day permit or a permanent
license.

How do I get alicense?

You can get the 30-day permit by calling
the Special Events Section at 410-767-1540.
For a permanent license, file a Combined
Registration Application with the State
Comptroller’s Office. You can complete it
online on the Comptroller’s Web site at
www.marylandtaxes.com. You can also call

Taxpayer Service at 410-767-1300 in the
Baltimore area or toll-free at 1-800-492-1751
from elsewhere in Maryland to receive an
application.

Which kind of license is best for me?

If you sell at only one or two flea markets a
year, a 30-day permit should be sufficient. If
you sell frequently, you can'benefit more from
a permanent license.

Why is it to my benefit?

Permanent licensees do not have to pay the
tax on items they buy to resell if they present a
resale certificate. However, there are
limitations. For details, request Business Tax
Tip #4 - If You Make Purchases for Resale.
Permanent licensees may also deduct a
collection fee on the reporting form. The fee
is deducted from the taxes collected.

When should I register?

You should register as soon as possible. If
you don't register now and are later found to be
making taxable sales without collecting the tax,
you will be liable for back taxes.

Do I have to display my license at a flea
market?

Yes. Maryland law requires that vendors
display their licenses at any location where
sales are made. This will save you valuable
selling time because representatives of the
Comptroller’s Office do not have to ask for
your registration number.

Is collecting and remitting the tax
complicated?

No. Maryland has a single 6 percent tax
rate applicable to virtually all sales. There are
no local sales taxes. The forms are simple and
only take a few minutes to complete.

Why do I have to collect the tax on used
goods? It was probably taxed when new.

The tax is on the transaction or sale and
not on the property sold. The same item will
generate tax each time it is sold.

The tax is on the transaction or
sale and not on the property sold.

The same item will generate tax
each time it 1s sold.

How do I handle customers who object to
paying tax?

There will be customers who think that
sales at flea markets are exempt or who
otherwise misunderstand the law. To help, we
have produced a sign you can display. Copies
are available from Taxpayer Service.

Do nonprofit organizations have to
collect tax?

Yes. Nonprofit organizations must collect
tax even on donated goods. Private individuals
must also collect tax even if they plan to
donate the proceeds to a nonprofit
organization. Sales by religious organizations
and sales of food by volunteer fire companies
and veterans organizations are exempt.

Are sales to other dealers exempt?

Always collect tax on sales to other dealers
unless they present you with a resale certificate
bearing their Maryland sales tax registration
number. Resale certificates are not valid for
cash, check or credit card purchases of less
than $200, unless you deliver the goods
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