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What is the FCAA, and what happened?

• The Further Consolidated Appropriations Act of  2020 is a budget bill signed 
into law on December 20, 2019 by the President.

• Appropriations bills are massive undertakings, and due to the problems presented 
(shutdowns, etc) by operating *without* a federal budget, these bills are generally 
considered “must pass” legislation.  This creates opportunities for add-ons…

• This year, the CAA contained the following provision:
• “The Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act is amended…by striking 18 

years and inserting 21 years; and by adding at the end the following:

…It shall be unlawful for any retailer to sell a tobacco product to any person 
younger than 21 years of  age.”



Congress just made it illegal to sell tobacco/ESDs to anyone under 21… 

So, what did FDA do?

When the President signed the FCAA legislation on December 20, 2019, many 
in the industry suspected that – as is customary – the FDA had 180 days to 
update its regulations with the change taking hold 90 days later.

However, on December 21, 2019 – just one day later – this showed up on the 
FDA’s Website:
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What does this mean for Maryland’s “Tobacco 21” law?

• Conventional wisdom about federal vs. state law says that the action taken  
by Congress, signed into law by the President, and backed up by FDA’s 
statement preempts Maryland’s 2019 law, and replaces it entirely. 

• This invalidates the provision in Maryland’s Tobacco 21 law exempting 
military personnel with ID from the “21 to buy” requirement. 

• The Maryland General Assembly may have plans to correct this conflict 
during the 2020 Session now underway… 

• …BUT, even if  the MGA doesn’t act - federal law reigns supreme.

• Tobacco/ESD retailers must comply or face enforcement actions by 
FDA and any other enforcement entity – including local health 
departments and the Comptroller’s Field Enforcement Division. 

“21-To-Buy” and a Pod Ban: 
FDA’s Recent Actions on ESDs



What *else* has the FDA been up to lately?

FDA website on January 2, 2020:
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What *else* has the FDA been up to lately? (cont.)
• FDA’s new enforcement policy “prioritize[s] enforcement against 

these illegally marketed ENDS products by focusing on the 
following groups of  products: 

• Any flavored, cartridge-based ENDS product (other than a 
tobacco- or menthol-flavored ENDS product); 

• All other ENDS products for which the manufacturer has 
failed to take (or is failing to take) adequate measures to prevent 
minors’ access; and 

• Any ENDS product that is targeted to minors or likely to 
promote use of  ENDS by minors.”
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• What led to this recent and aggressive action by FDA?
• Arguably, what preceded this action was years of  inaction, as FDA’s own 

press release notes:

• “[FDA]…deferred enforcement of  the premarket authorization 
requirements. To date, no ENDS products have been authorized by 
the FDA — meaning that all ENDS products currently on the market 
are considered illegally marketed and are subject to enforcement, at 
any time, in the FDA’s discretion.”

• However, both the recent “EVALI” crisis and the President’s multiple 
varied  proposals about how to respond likely forced the FDA to take a 
stand, particularly against the products favored by and marketed towards 
children.
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What licensed Maryland businesses are affected?

• 46 ESD Retailers
• 87 Vape Shop Vendors

• *44 MD vape shops are registered “manufacturers of  e-liquids” with FDA 
• Pod/Cartridge retail Points-of-sale:

• 6082 – OTP Retailers**
• 6285 – Cigarette Retailers**

*As of  October 2019, Maryland law requires vape shops who create their own e-liquids to apply for an 
“ESD Manufacturer” license from the Comptroller’s Office.

**Maryland law allows licensed Cigarette/OTP retailers to sell ESDs without acquiring an additional “ESD 
Retailer” or “Vape Shop Vendor” license.
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Questions?
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